Coaching Staff

Baseball Head Coach: Scott Kelly

KELLYEmail: scott.kelly@email.edcc.edu

Scott Kelly completed his second season as the Edmonds CC head baseball coach in style – by winning the 2014 NWAACC Championship. His Tritons posted a 39-8 overall record, won the North Region regular season title and swept through the North Region Tournament. Edmonds CC then moved on to Longview to play in the league championship tournament. The Tritons ended up winning its eighth NWAACC title there after a 7-6 victory over Bellevue in the championship game.

Edmonds Baseball earned numerous awards in 2014:

In 2013, Kelly led Edmonds to a 27-19 overall record and a second place finish in the North Region with a 15-9 mark. The Tritons won two games at the North Region Tournament before falling in the title game to Bellevue College. Edmonds CC players were recognized at years end. Earning first-team status were outfielder T.C. Florentine, pitcher Kevin Sheets and catcher Kyle Olson. Second-team picks were second baseman Marcus Madden, shortstop Ryan Archibald, outfielder Ryland Longoni and designated hitter Kyle Baumgartner. Gold Glove award selections are catcher Jeff Beckman and outfielder T.C. Florentine. Florentine also won the national two-year Gold Glove.

Kelly, a former NWAACC player, has a decade of coaching experience, including four years as the head coach at Missouri Valley College. He played at Green River CC where his team placed third in the NWAACC Championships in 1996. He earned first team all-league in 1997 before transferring to Missouri Valley College. He was a NAIA All-American pitcher at Missouri Valley College and was drafted in the 25th round by the San Diego Padres in 2001.

In 2005, Kelly was named head coach at Missouri Valley College. The Vikings qualified for the postseason twice during his four seasons at the helm (2005-08), with his teams producing 13 NAIA All-Americans and 15 Academic All-Americans. Additionally, 11 of Kelly's players advanced to the professional ranks.

After moving back to the Northwest, Kelly worked as the pitching coach at Green River CC (2009-10), St. Martin's University (NCAA DII) (2011) and at Kentlake High School (2012). Green River broke school records in ERA and strikeouts in 2010, with three pitchers selected in the MLB Draft. The Saint Martin's staff set new standards in wins and ERA.

Kelly is currently the Vice President of the Northwest Collegiate Baseball League. He earned his Bachelor's degree from Missouri Valley College in 2006. He is married to Selene and resides in Seattle.

Associate Head Coach: Paul Gehring

Assistant Coaches: Ron Omori, Tim Hiles, Jeff Carlson, Jake Wheeler, Corwin Patis